Author Topic: Should I pay off my 2.25% cosigned student loan?  (Read 4977 times)

greenbanana

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I pay off my 2.25% cosigned student loan?
« on: May 09, 2014, 09:00:37 AM »
Hi all, I'm looking for some advice on a moral quandary I'm facing. Back when I was a financially naive student, I took out loans to cover my tuition, room, and board. I was fortunate enough to have an aunt and uncle with good credit cosign one of my loans, so the interest rate is pretty low (~$13000 at 2.25%, variable). The loan is not yet in repayment because I'm still a student (PhD, and hopefully less naive now!), but my husband and I now earn enough money that we could pay back the loan pretty quickly. My husband's opinion is that we should just invest our money because we will get a much better return in the market. However, I feel a bit skeevy about letting the loan hang around while my aunt and uncle are on the hook for the money if anything goes wrong with us.

I've looked into getting the cosigners released, but Sallie Mae won't allow that until the loan has been in repayment with on-time payments for something like 6 months, and it seems like they won't put it in repayment while I'm still a student (which will be the case until summer of 2015). And I've thought about getting another loan to pay off this loan, but I doubt we'd be able to get such a good rate (although I could be wrong about this). What say the mustachians?

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
Re: Should I pay off my 2.25% cosigned student loan?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 09:21:51 AM »
Personally I agree with you: with somebody else on the hook, I would not be comfortable until it was paid off, even if they didn't mind.

jonchappelle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 09:55:35 AM »
I have the same situation, ~20k @ 2.25-2.50% interest, cosigned by my parents. Chances are if you drop the cosigner, your rates will increase.