Author Topic: Should I pay off loans faster or let it ride?  (Read 4163 times)

mm36

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I pay off loans faster or let it ride?
« on: May 05, 2014, 10:35:03 AM »
I currently have close to  $72,000 in student loans from graduate school and college.  But I am on an income based repayment plan (IBR) where if I make payments for the next 20 years, any remaining debt will be forgiven at that time.  I'm not sure I want to be indebted for that long, but the thing is I work as a librarian and don't make much money anyway.  Sometimes, I am tempted to just make the minimum payments for 20 years since the remainder will be forgiven.

What would you guys do in this situation?  Also, I have 1500 dollars in credit card debt.

S0VERE1GN

• Stubble
Re: Should I pay off loans faster or let it ride?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 10:46:36 AM »
Also Have high student loan debt ($100k between my wife and myself)

The first thing you need to do is annihilate that credit card debt. here's your obligatory face punch. *SMACK*

Second: get a handle on other expenses. lower all other expenses as much as possible and then re evaluate your situation after a few months. can you pay the statement balance now? are you still in IBR essentially? if you can get to paying the monthly balance for a10-year payoff you're on good footing.

next: get more money coming in to pay them off. second job, sell stuff start a blog etc. I can tell you right now that if you pay that bill for 20 years to wait for it to go away, you will have paid FAR MORE than 75k. and that money will be gone forever, not bringing you any closer to your early retirement.  There are quite a few case studies of folks who had more SL debt than you and destroyed it in a year or less. it can be done!

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2014, 10:55:37 AM »
what are the interest rates on the school loans and the credit cards?