Author Topic: Should I pay off HELP Debt or save/invest?  (Read 4480 times)

JuicyCrab

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I pay off HELP Debt or save/invest?
« on: March 12, 2016, 02:24:36 AM »
I love seeing questions asked on the MMM forums as you always get very clear and logical answers that help a lot of people.

Me: Male, 28, self employed running an online retail store.

In Australia we have a system where our university fees are paid for by the government and we incur a 'HELP DEBT' in the process. For me I completed a 4 year engineering bachelors at around $40,000. There is no interest on this debt, just inflation adjustment per year at 2-3%.

The debt is paid off automatically through the taxation system where if you earn over $55,000 or there abouts they start taking an additional 5% tax off your taxable income until the debt is cleared.

The government also offers a bonus 5% on all additional contributions over $500 (you deposit $500, they throw in another $25 for free).

My Question: Would it be better to pay this off with the 5% bonus, or invest the money elsewhere (index funds, bonds, property, cash accounts, etc).

It seems the opportunity cost of additional contributions might outweigh investing the money elsewhere, what are your thoughts people?

Cheers
James
Australia

11ducks

• Pencil Stache
Re: Should I pay off HELP Debt or save/invest?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2016, 05:13:26 AM »
I'm in the same quandary. As someone who isn't super competent with investing (other than term deposits and the like), I plan to pay mine off in May (so I get the 5% bonus, and avoid paying 2-3% indexation in June).