Author Topic: Should I move first, then find a job? Trying to change careers  (Read 1701 times)

retireatbirth

• Bristles
Should I move first, then find a job? Trying to change careers
« on: February 19, 2018, 09:50:06 AM »
Hello,

I have been in my current job for almost 2 years and I hated it pretty much from day 1. It was also a relocation and I hate the city as well. I took it for the money. Financially, it has accelerated my net worth into a pretty good position around $330k (I'm mid 30s, single), but I am not happy. I have been looking for a new job in other cities for almost a year, but nothing has panned out. I have had a few final round interviews, but only once was I actually flown out to meet people. It's just been over video and I don't think I'm taken as serious as local candidates at all stages of the interview process.

Adding to that, I've decided I want to make a career change into software/data engineering. My background is data analysis so sorta relevant and I've acquired some certifications. I feel there's no way in hell an employer is going to consider a long distance career changer. This makes me think I should just move first, then find a job.

My plan would be to work some menial and temp jobs while looking for a full time position. Fortunately, I'm in a place where a 10% market return is approx. my yearly expenses so in an average year I come out with no stash damage even if I don't work. But, it slows down my FIRE timeline and obviously there's the potential of a bad year in the market.

Just wanted to get some thoughts on if I am being realistic and if it's okay to move before finding the job.

Miss Piggy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Should I move first, then find a job? Trying to change careers
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2018, 10:36:15 AM »