Author Topic: Should I let my new girlfriend buy into my house  (Read 14085 times)

MrSporty

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I let my new girlfriend buy into my house
« on: July 30, 2012, 07:13:14 AM »
Hi, I'm a 38-year old from Norway who got divorced three years ago. I've got two sons (8 & 11 years old) who I care for 50%.

The house (villa, nice neighbourhood) I live in is worth around $1.300.000 and my mortgage is currently around $690.000.
In my divorce I bought out my ex by increasing my mortgage. I work in a bank with a company-subsidized mortgage rate, enjoy a decent salary and I also get rent for my basement appartement for $2000/month (tax free). So I believe my finances are quite good at the moment, allowing me to have a savings rate of about 50%.

My dillemma is: I have a new girlfriend. We've been together for about two years, and living together for one. I beliieve this is for the long term (but so I did with my ex - we lived together for 17 years...) You can say I am a burned child....

I took a hit when buying out my ex (the house had then doubled of what we originally bought it for) and I'm not sure if I can take another hit like that in the future - I will have to sell the house and buy something smaller. Not an ideal situation for my kids and I. Besides, I want to live in the same area as my ex since we share the kids equally, one week at a time.

My girlfriend doesn't own any property and wants to get into the housing market. The problem with my town (Stavanger) is that it is a high-priced city and it's very hard to find a rental property that she can afford. She doesn't want to be without any equity if we should split sometime in the future.

I could let her buy into my house, but to keep up with the rising house prices around here (approx 10%/year the last 20 years) I would have to invest the money in stocks and/or high yield bonds - which has a high risk. The may even be worth less if I need to sell them...