Author Topic: Should I leave my job?  (Read 1735 times)

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Should I leave my job?
« on: February 05, 2022, 12:49:11 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am a registered nurse with an associates degree. I work for my state government at nearly 60$/hour. Net worth is between 1.3 million and 1.5 million depending on the day in the market. 29 y.o with SO and 1YO baby.

Covid at my worksite has really burned me out as well as the unprofessionalism of most of my colleagues. I have fought for nearly a year for them to make me part time. They are FINALLY doing it but I am now realizing I don’t think I can do the job part time either. I am concerned I am going to have a mental breakdown if I stay. On the other hand I am concerned I am going to look unprofessional leaving after they are finally allowing me to go part time.

Expenses are 60k/ year- I was really hoping to make it to a 1.8 million dollar net worth prior to leaving to account for health insurance/extra margin of error during FIRE.

I have an associates degree in nursing as said above. I may immediately look for another job (preferably part time) or go to school for a NP degree or maybe to change professions. IDK. I am pretty certain I will take at least a 10% hourly pay cut but it will honestly be worth it. My income is the only income we have. My wife keeps saying she is willing to go back to work but I don’t want to take her away from our baby and her hourly rate is probably worth 1/3 of mine.

On paper, my job as part time would be ideal/amazing to wait for my net worth to hit 1.8 million but emotionally I don’t think I can do it. I have not been able to be the husband/father I want to be over the last year due to the work stress. I have High levels of anxiety, hard time sleeping and often very irritable. I need to get out but I think I need the approval of money nerd Internet strangers to tell me to do it.

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Re: Should I leave my job?