Author Topic: Should I go for Public Service Loan Forgiveness?  (Read 3857 times)

izzy0316

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I go for Public Service Loan Forgiveness?
« on: February 28, 2018, 02:53:09 PM »
Hello. I'm new to MMM and FI generally, but very motivated. We've been using YNAB for several months and take it very seriously and we've cut down our expenses considerably so far. We also live in a very HCOL area (NYC), but are reluctant to stray too far because both our families are here and we are all very close, plus my wife and I have a young child who is our first.

My wife and I have about $180k in Federal Student Loans (mine is $100k, hers $80k) and I have another $10k in private loans. My wife's been shooting for Public Service Loan Forgiveness for the past couple years and I recently decided to plan for PSLF for myself too and I would love the feedback of this forum in terms of that decision in light of our plans for FI in 10-15 years.

Here are our other numbers:

Ages: I'm 32, my wife is 30.

We have 1 baby and 1 dog.

FI Plan: I would love to be FI in 10-15 years.

Combined income: $160,000/year gross (this may go up by $5-15k if my wife gets a raise, which we will find out over the next few months). Although we are both in PSLF-eligible jobs, neither of us gets a true pension (Defined Benefit Plan).

Retirement Savings (401k, 457, IRAs): $50,000

Cash Savings: $50,000 earning about 3.5% (combination of high-yield savings, checking, and CDs).

No other debt

1 car, fully owned

Monthly expenses: $7,800 up until now, but see below. Big-ticket items are Rent, Childcare, and Student Loans.

Current rent: $1,700/month

Anticipated rent beginning this summer: $2,000/month (we are struggling as it is with 1 child in a small 1-bedroom and we will likely have another kid in the next couple of years, so we want a 2-bedroom).