Author Topic: Should I give my camry to my brother and buy my moms volkswagon?  (Read 7486 times)

humbleMouse

• Bristles
Should I give my camry to my brother and buy my moms volkswagon?
« on: December 14, 2015, 10:49:58 AM »
My brother is turning 18 soon and his car is a total piece of crap that is becoming dangerous to drive.  I currently drive a 99 camry that runs like brand new and has been meticulously maintained.

My mother is offering to sell me her 2007 4dr VW rabbit 2.5L for $2500.  The car has 100k miles on it and has been maintained by the dealership it's whole life and drives like new.  It has traction control, better speakers, heated seats, all things I value in a car for driving in minnesota.  I am also a music producer and test mixes in my car constantly.  The VW has way better speakers and would be much better suited to that than my current camry. 

I also am personally connected with 2 mom/pop vw shops in town because I used to drive a passat 1.8t.  So I have reliable maintenance people to maintain the VW.

My 99 LE camry - 160k miles.  Basically I would be giving this to my brother as a gift so he has a reliable good car to have when he is 18. 

My thoughts are this - if I give my brother my car and buy the VW from my mom I am basically coming out even because my car is worth 2.5-3k and the VW is worth 4-6k. 

ALSO: I don't drive much at all for 6 months of the year when I bike everywhere.  I will be putting barely any miles on the VW 6 months of the year. 

Financial situation:

Assets:
Stable contracting programming job where I make good money. 
5k in high quality music recording equipment.
9k in stocks that I actively manage.

Debts:
11k student debt @4.7% interest. 

THIS IS WHAT I AM THINKING:

I can take a loan from my friend who has lots of cash for a 2% interest rate.  We have a good history of me taking cash loans from him and paying him back very quickly.  I would not hold this VW car debt for longer than 4 months.