Author Topic: Should I get a business license?  (Read 4262 times)

isbjshaffer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Paying down 40k in Student Loans by 9/1/15!
    • Church of Acts
Should I get a business license?
« on: September 15, 2014, 10:17:20 AM »
I've tried doing some online researching and can't find a whole lot about the topic so if you guys know of any please let me know!

Hubby and I have just started reading some Rich Dad Poor Dad books and have both been intrigued by the business idea.

From what I understand, just about anyone can get a business license. Are there any requirements to getting one that I need to know about? The primary purpose for obtaining one would be for tax write offs. I'm not a financial expert by any means, never took any business classes so I don't know much about any of it. I wouldn't really be trying to set up an actual business (though if my blog takes off, that's great!) but if I counted my blog as my business, could I count my mortgage, electric, computer supplies, things like that? Could I purchase property in the name of my business? How does all of this work?

Thanks!

isbjshaffer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Paying down 40k in Student Loans by 9/1/15!
    • Church of Acts
Re: Should I get a business license?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 01:12:01 PM »
Bump, Does anyone know exactly how handling your investments through a business benefits you over just investing as an individual?

johnhenry

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2014, 01:58:05 PM »
From the IRS site:  http://www.irs.gov/uac/Schedule-C-%28Form-1040%29,-Profit-or-Loss-From-Business
Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business

Use this schedule to report income or loss from a business you operated or a profession you practiced as a sole proprietor. An activity qualifies as a business if your primary purpose for engaging in the activity is for income or profit and you are involved in the activity with continuity and regularity.