Author Topic: Should I finish my Bachelors?  (Read 9481 times)

DigitalRain

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I finish my Bachelors?
« on: June 14, 2012, 08:33:39 PM »
Hi everybody,

I've been trying to decide for a while whether completing my degree would be worthwhile or not, so I'm excited to find a community of people that value frugality as much as I do! I'll try to keep this as brief as I can.

I'm a student at McNally Smith College of Music where I'm majoring in Guitar Performance. My intention is to make a living teaching private guitar lessons and playing in bands after graduating. I have 23 credits remaining, which I would complete in two semesters.

The issues: 1) many of these classes are generals and I don't feel would directly benefit knowledge or skills as they apply to teaching and performing (though certainly some classes would be worthwhile). 2) I did an internship as a guitar teacher at the School of Rock last spring, where I have since become an employee (though the pay isn't great compared to most private teaching situations, $12/hr, it's excellent experience), and I'm also doing occasional sub work for a McNally alumni at another school (which pays much better, $26/hr). Point being, it doesn't feel like my current lack of a degree is an issue in that field, and it certainly isn't when trying to join a band (playing ability matters far more than paper credentials in the performance world).

With what I've currently completed I should be able to walk away with an Associate's for my troubles. I can only really see a Bachelor's being required if at some point I want to teach at the collegiate level, however I could see myself returning to college at some point in the future if I really wanted to make that happen.

So, the finances.

Expenses - About $750/month

Rent - $400 (2 roommates. I live in downtown St. Paul, where I can walk to school, and most of the places I work)
Food - About $200
Gym - $43