Author Topic: Should I finance a car to build credit?  (Read 10640 times)

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Should I finance a car to build credit?
« on: March 28, 2014, 09:35:27 AM »
Just wanted to get some opinions on this. I am buying a used car soon. If I get it from a dealership, should I take a financing option to build credit? I am 19 and the only credit I have is a credit card since Jan 2014 and a student loan that I've been making interest payments on since 2012. Have perfect credit thus far.  I have the cash for the car now (Approximately $5k). I really want to buy a house as absolutely soon as possible.

Should I try to finance the car if that option is available to build credit?

Forcus

• Pencil Stache
Re: Should I finance a car to build credit?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2014, 09:54:42 AM »
If the car is only $5k, then I assume that it is older and that with your limited credit history, the interest rate would be 10%+. It would help "build credit" but of course it would cost you. I don't think there is a magic formula that can tell you how much it would add to your credit score, if so you would be able to say, yes, the rate is high, but consider it a "required" fee to be able to buy a home down the road. So I know that didn't help but I'm hoping someone says there is a magic formula you can use to determine this.

HAULIN3

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Plant Strong!
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2014, 09:59:28 AM »
I'm new here, but I'm old in life.  DON'T finance a car. Good job getting a used car!! You are in a great position at 19.  You CAN find a mortgage loan that doesnt require you to be in debt/have a credit score... Stick with paying for things with cash.. You will be better off...

ketchup

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2014, 10:04:42 AM »