Author Topic: Should I enroll in a graduate program?  (Read 5373 times)

georgialiving

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I enroll in a graduate program?
« on: March 01, 2016, 10:42:09 AM »
Hello everyone,

I am really fumbling with this so I thought I would ask for some help. Life situation- I am a SAHM with a 3 year old who starts school full time in Sep.  I also have an 18 month old.  We don't want any more children.  My husband works full-time and makes about 50k.  I am about to graduate in 10 weeks with a Bachelors in Business Admin and a minor in HR.  I have been job hunting (lightly?) for 5 months or so with ZERO luck.  Even for $9hr desk jobs.  I have little work experience outside of four years spent in the military as an electronics tech.

I am looking at a grad program.  Specifically Masters of Arts in Teaching Early Childhood.  It is for people with a degree in any field to become certified teachers.  I would start this summer, and would finish the internship by the end of 2017 from my initial planning and looking over the information.  After that I would be eligible for my teaching cert. (with a few tests and things) and a starting salary of 38k.

Here are the numbers I am looking at:
I estimate a total of 15k for this program including tuition, books, and full time childcare during my last semester for 15 weeks while I do the full time internship. However I currently make about 14k a year, between GI bill stipends and babysitting.  The GI bill money won't last forever though.  I would miss out on $7500 this year and $14500 next year from what I can tell.  I would go to class at night monday through thurs.  and still be with my younger daughter during the day.  So I feel nervous looking at those numbers.

Instead of ending 2017 22k up, we would miss out on 22k and spend 15k.  But of course I would have a career at the end. 

I would love to hear other peoples thoughts.  I am either overthinking or stressing. 

georgialiving

• 5 O'Clock Shadow