Author Topic: Should I delay a career change for 3 years in order to vest in pension?  (Read 1234 times)

MikeJones2001

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I have been a firefighter paramedic for 7 years. In order to vest in the state pension I need to stay 3 more years. I would be eligible to draw a pension at age 60 (I am currently 38 years old) and my monthly benefit would be around $1100 per month until my death.

My other option would be to leave the fire service and get a job in another field that pays more or similar to  my current position. I currently make around $60,000 per year.  I do not see myself being a firefighter for 18 more years in order to gain full retirement at 25 years of service.

I have an MBA and I have experience in sales and in underwriting.

My question is : should i go ahead a start a new career or wait 3 years in order to vest in my state pension ?

oldladystache

• Pencil Stache
Is the pension adjusted for inflation?

MikeJones2001

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
thats great question. I just looked it up and yes there is cost of living raises but only when the legislator of alabama approves it. So it probably wont be every year.

Sandi_k

• Handlebar Stache
I have been a firefighter paramedic for 7 years. In order to vest in the state pension I need to stay 3 more years. I would be eligible to draw a pension at age 60 (I am currently 38 years old) and my monthly benefit would be around $1100 per month until my death.

My question is : should i go ahead a start a new career or wait 3 years in order to vest in my state pension ?

That $1100 will be worth more when you claim it, since it's COLA'd. Also, if you delay your claim until the age factor maxes out (for my pension, that happens at age 60), you might make even more.

Assume 22 years, 1% COLA per year, then $1100 per month = $1369 per month in 2043.

$1369/month = $16,430 per year.

Assuming 4% SWR and a 30 year life expectancy, that means the pension would be worth $16,430 x 25 = $410,756.