Author Topic: Should I Change Jobs  (Read 1373 times)

KBCB

• Stubble
  • Burning to Fire
Should I Change Jobs
« on: September 09, 2019, 04:54:57 PM »
A little bit about me. I am a 30+ year old with a fairly new family and one toddler. I am an engineer.

Pay- Current Job 75K a year with bonus New Opportunity 76.5K no bonus available **would net $4000 with new opportunity value includes insurance difference
Benefits- About the same (New opportunity 50% cost reduction included in positive net above)
Job Itself- New opportunity seems more exciting - actually work I feel I would like to do. Current job stagnant
Work Life Balance- New opportunity will be more demanding and harder. Seems to require possibly long hours but says are flexible?
Commute- New opportunity is longer distance but away from rush hour traffic so comparable time
Job security- Current job way more secure (never layoffs). New opportunity does experience them
Size- Current Job VERY Small, New opportunity HUGE!!
Advancement- Current job Possible but VERY low level of advancement - New opportunity Promise of advancement for new if I do well
Reviews- New Opportunity online reviews from workers are mostly bad
Additional Benefit- Current job ESOP with opportunity of large growth/ retirement benefit
Bonus: If I leave current job now I give up large ~$5000 year end bonus (which is included in total pay), I also loose some ESOP due to not fully vested approx ~10000 loss

Looking for some opinions to help me make this very hard decision.

How do people decide?

« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 07:40:59 PM by KBCB »

ender

• Walrus Stache
Re: Should I Change Jobs
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 07:19:05 PM »
I don't feel like this is enough information to really give meaningful advice from - it sounds like you are taking a fair significant pay cut ($4k/year as well as about $15k in unvested benefits)?

What is the magnitude we're talking about here? $60k/year? $100k/year? $150k/year?

KBCB

• Stubble