Author Topic: Should I buy or rent?  (Read 5592 times)

kosh525

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I buy or rent?
« on: June 17, 2013, 10:57:15 PM »
Greetings everyone! Been a long time lurker of the forums, first time poster.  Trying to get a mustache growing and I need some advice on a very tough situation.  I am a recent college grad and will be getting married to my fiance in Sept.  We hope to be living together before the wedding.  We are trying to weigh the pros and cons of renting vs buying in our situation.  Here is the breakdown of our income, expenses, and debt:

Debt
Student Loan- $14500
Car Loan - $6300
Fiance Student Loan - $12500
Fiance Car Loan - $5500
Total Debt - $37000

Total Income - $4700/month

Expenses Per Month

Student Loan -100
Car Loan -160
Fiance Student Loan - 80
Fiance Car Loan - 100
Food - 400 (Our set limit once we move out of our rents' houses)
Cell Phones-   150 (will be lowering this once we are out of contract with ATT)
Pets -50
Car Insurance -180
Gas - 150
Clothing- 50
Utilities - 150 (again, expected when we move out, just an estimate and not an actual figure)
Internet - 50 (again, estimate, we do not expect getting cable)