Author Topic: Should I buy a motif?  (Read 4653 times)

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Should I buy a motif?
« on: March 17, 2015, 11:29:06 AM »
Motif investing has a get $150 if you buy $2000 worth of motifs and must buy at least 3 (cost $29.95).  It also costs that amount to sell plus $25 to transfer the cash.  Would you do it?  Have you done it? 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Should I buy a motif?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 03:16:27 PM »
It certainly is intriguing. 

I wouldn't, as it goes against my personal investing philosophy, but I can't say it isn't tempting.

ROG had a recent article with a good explanation for those who aren't familiar: http://rootofgood.com/motif-investing/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

RootofGood

• Handlebar Stache
  • Retired at age 33. 5 years in, still loving it!
    • Root of Good
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 06:40:51 PM »
Thanks for the shout out arebelspy!

I'm thinking about opening up an account to get the bonus and for playing with funny money.  I might stick my random cash from craigslist sales, credit card bonuses, beer rebates, etc into motif and buy a dividend payer motif (or some other idea that might do well). 

They also offer some sweet looking commission free "asset allocation" portfolios that align with my general investing philosophy.  I'm not planning on switching the bulk of my assets over there though since I'm set up nicely at Fidelity and Vanguard already.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2015, 07:12:21 PM »