Author Topic: Should I "treat" myself?  (Read 2853 times)

redwood_canyon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I "treat" myself?
« on: March 29, 2019, 12:23:39 AM »
A month and a half ago I wanted to purchase a nice, new, and shiny Casio watch $15. I promised myself to put off the purchase until I get a job. (I'm a college student who has never been formally employed)

Just today I got the job and will start a week from now making $9.30 an hour, part time. It has come to the point now where I don't feel I deserve to buy this watch just for getting this job. Also the fact that the watch is nearly 2 hrs of work at this pay. I already have one anyway which has been with me for over a year. The only difference really is the color of the case which is gold instead of silver. What should I do? Should I wait for my first paycheck to come through so I really earned it? Not buy it? What would you do?

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
Re: Should I "treat" myself?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2019, 12:44:34 AM »
Don’t buy the watch. You have one that works.

KathrinS

• Bristles
    • A Chat with Kat
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2019, 01:22:59 AM »
If you have one that works and it's just about the color of the case, then it's probably not worth buying.

kei te pai

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2019, 02:34:35 AM »
Dont buy it. Start thinking of your bank balance as the treat.

slappy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2019, 06:14:52 AM »
Can you find a job paying more than $9.30 per hour?

mcneally

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2019, 06:56:54 AM »
I'm out of the loop. Can someone explain the joke to me?

omachi

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2019, 06:58:34 AM »