Author Topic: sharing document securely?  (Read 3828 times)

scrubbyfish

sharing document securely?
« on: December 17, 2015, 05:10:10 AM »
For those of us without tech savvy, access to Corporate fanciness, etc, is there a way to share a document with select people in far off lands in such a way that the doc cannot become accessible (viewable, printable, etc) by others?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: sharing document securely?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 05:21:44 AM »
Do you trust the other people with it, or do you want them to only be able to view it, but not print it?

A locked PDF (with password to access, and print abilities disabled) would fit the bill.

Or (if the answer to the first question is yes), just zipping your file up with a password is the easiest, IMO.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Tjat

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 06:27:47 AM »
I like Google Docs. You can set just yourself or any number of people as editors, allow read only access to others, etc.

sisto

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2015, 09:21:40 AM »
+1 to what Arebelspy said.

Beaker

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2015, 09:36:37 AM »
There's a tradeoff between security and ease-of-use, so it depends what you're trying to protect against. Snooping housemates, casual hackers (script kiddies), serious hackers that are targeting you personally, Google reading over your shoulder, something else?

Cathy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2015, 09:50:32 AM »
...print abilities disabled...