Author Topic: Set up a business for my side hustle?  (Read 1870 times)

afuera

• Pencil Stache
Set up a business for my side hustle?
« on: October 24, 2018, 10:52:20 AM »
I currently have side hustle where I referee soccer games which I can earn a couple hundred bucks a week depending on how hard I want to work.  I typically make less than $10K/year since it is seasonal.  I have a business credit card (Chase INK) that I use for new gear or yearly certification classes. I haven't been tracking mileage or gas spent on this side hustle because one of the fields is within biking distance and the main other is <10 min away so the impact really isn't significant.  I have direct deposit set up through referee assignors for payment and get a 1099 from them every year.  My day job is high income and Hubs and I make ~200K combined before taxes so this isn't a huge impact from a tax perspective.

Is there any benefit to setting up a business for the income/expenses of my side hustle?  Where/how would I even get started on that and is there a type that would typically work best? I've been told I might be able to set up a SEPP IRA and tax shelter more money (currently maxing all tax-sheltered accounts) but I am not sure of the rules around that.  I'm starting to do research on my own but I know there has to be some smart people around here who have already figured out the best way to handle side hustles.   

aetheldrea

• Stubble
Re: Set up a business for my side hustle?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2018, 03:21:23 PM »
Sounds like you already have a business as a self-employed independent contractor, there really isn't anything you need to set up to make it an "official business." In your case there isn't a real reason to set up an LLC or corporation, which would protect you personally from the misdeeds of your business partners. And no reason to publish a fictitious business name statement.