Author Topic: Seeking to retire early, what would you do next?  (Read 2871 times)

Invester17

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Seeking to retire early, what would you do next?
« on: July 14, 2017, 02:50:01 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum! I really like it so far I've found a lot of great reading material thus far. I wanted to start with a snapshot of my current financial and life status and get everyone's take on what I can do next / better.

I work as an engineer and I'm 26 with an annual salary of $160,000. I'll note that this is 30% commission based so this can fluctuate year to year. However, in 2016 I did $180,000 and this year I'm on track to do $260,000+. I anticipate at least $160,000k next year at minimum. I'm only about 3 years into my career (graduated college in 2014).

Networth: $390,000 +/-
Cash: $40,000
401k: $100,000 (maxed each year + 4.5% match on salary)
HSA: $5,400 (maxed each year + $500 employer seed)
Robinhood: $33,000 (stopped increasing currently to put more into the S&P 500)
Vanguard S&P 500: $72,000 (target of $100,000 by end of August or September based on incoming commission)
Vanguard Long-term bond: $10,000 (stopped adding)
Vanguard Roth IRA: $5,800 (backdoor IRA, will do this again in CY18)
Employee Stock: $22,000 (10% every paycheck is contributed to ESPP, every 6 months it purchases at 15% lower than current sticker price)
No credit card debt
No car payment (valued at $18,000)
Mortgage: $384,000 (appraised recently at $460,000).
- Interest rate of 4%
- Beach rental property / winter rental
- I don't have the exact numbers, but it's been renting well and has so far booked $37,000 gross this summer.
Renting in a metro area: $2700 a month (all inclusive)