Author Topic: Seeking Advice for Starting a High School Investment Club (real $)  (Read 3051 times)

MrMathMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all,

Several of my students love to talk stocks with me (and even more know nothing about markets but really want to learn), and we've decided that we want to set up our own club for the '18-'19 school year.  Back in high school, I belonged to a newly-founded club that pooled real money and invested in the market.  It was a fantastic experience and certainly helped educate me on the importance of saving and investing for the long term.  The problem is that I graduated in 1996, and I don't recall how our sponsors incorporated our group, and the mechanics of individual investing have changed so much that I'm not sure how relevant it would be anyway.  Further, most google searches turn up groups that do stock market simulations, not the real thing.  My old high school group still exists and I reached out to the current sponsors last evening and am awaiting a reply.  I've also found betterinvesting.org and still need to research its site more fully.  In the meantime, I need MMM forum help with two things:

1) what books would you recommend that I get for 14-16 year-old students who are enthusiastic to learn about markets, but don't have much or any background knowledge?; and

2) are there any umbrella organizations where I could get more information about the mechanics of incorporation for purposes of executing transactions, taxes, etc.?

Any assistance/advice is greatly appreciated!

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: Seeking Advice for Starting a High School Investment Club (real $)
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 04:46:22 AM »
If your doing it with real money, don't pool it, walk them through opening individual accounts with Vanguard.

Then maybe have them simulate investing the same amount in individual stocks, and track/compare to their real index fund.

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache