Author Topic: Scenarios for deducting expenses  (Read 3322 times)

cosmie

• Stubble
Scenarios for deducting expenses
« on: April 22, 2012, 11:42:18 PM »
Short version: Can you deduct work-related expenses that aren't covered by your employer? If so, what can you deduct?

Long version: I'm an undergraduate student, and for the past two years I've worked in various student positions, changing as funding sources dried up. For the past two semester's I've worked as a TA for a professor's class, however I began doing work for another professor in the same department. This other work involved some light website maintenance, a few graphical tweaks, some event staffing, digital marketing campaigns, random jobs like that. Recently my work has transitioned from being a TA to this other work, and as such I've been required to purchase various items. The department I work for is in the College of Business, and for staffing forums and conferences, meeting clients and corporate partners, etc, I've had to outfit my business-casual and business-formal wardrobe considerably; something I had to do anyway due to internship interviews and such. I've also had to purchase software packages such as Dreamweaver, Photoshop, and Indesign. Total expenditures in 2012 are roughly around $1,000.