Author Topic: Safe Withdrawal Rate in Germany and Other Countries  (Read 6029 times)

plank

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Safe Withdrawal Rate in Germany and Other Countries
« on: March 14, 2015, 08:58:23 AM »
I found this paper somewhere on the forums here and need some help interpreting it.  Is it possible that the SWR for Germany is just over 1%?  That doesn't sound right to me and is definitely discouraging news as it would push FIRE into standard retirement age even with my super frugal lifestyle. 

Is the 1% SWR accurate?  Is there a reason to think that I can count on 1%, 4%, or another percentage in the future?

I'm a novice with this kind of info, so any help interpreting it would be appreciated.

Ambergris

• Stubble
Re: Safe Withdrawal Rate in Germany and Other Countries
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2015, 09:53:59 AM »
Is it possible that the SWR for Germany is just over 1%?...Is the 1% SWR accurate?  Is there a reason to think that I can count on 1%, 4%, or another percentage in the future?

Pfau's work is important and well respected. However, the reason why the SWR for Germany is so low is because it is based on what happened to the German economy during the 20th century, for the most part. All of the 20th century. This means it had to survive all the things that happened to the German stock and bond markets during Weimar/post WWII. In fact, Pfau remarks in the conclusion:

...some of the worst outcomes were connected with World Wars I and II, and investors who are confident that world war is a relic of the past may feel comfortable ignoring those cases, or may at least assume that enjoying a comfortable retirement would be the last thing on their minds...