Author Topic: Rural family of 4 - Case Study included!  (Read 5854 times)

TheInsuranceMan

• Bristles
Rural family of 4 - Case Study included!
« on: August 17, 2016, 10:20:55 AM »
About us:  DW and I are both 28, live in rural America, and have two children, 2 years old and 3 months old.  My wife works in the health care industry in the nearest hospital to where we live, and I work as an insurance agent.  We also have a bit of other income that comes from helping farm, and that will total $3-$5k per year, at this point.  Should increase as we grow older as our stake in the farm grows.

Gross Salary/Wages:
(going to be a bit off due to some small commissions on the monthly check that I’m looking at)
Me: $3,233.33 (per month - Salary) + commissions
Pre-tax Deductions:
Me: Health insurance: $24 a month
Dependent Care - $416.67 a month
HSA - $50 a month
Taxes
Fed withholding: $235.00
Social Security: $173.18
Medicare employee: $40.50
State withholding: $123.00
Total: $571.68
Roth 401k (10%) = $323.33
Net Pay: $1,882.29

Gross Salary/Wages:
DW: $1,478.93 (biweekly - $18.90 an hour)(this check at 78.25 total hours)
Deductions:
Heath Insurance: $123.70 (her and our two kids)
State Pension: $88.00 (employer $132.07)
Dental Ins: $27.04
Taxes:
Fed: $13.33
State: $58.41
FICA: $82.40
Medicare: $19.27
Total: $173.41
Net Pay: $1,060.88
Total monthly net income: $4004.05 + $416.67 dependent care reimbursement = $4,420.72

Assets
Dwelling Value: $50,000
DW IRA (rollover from previous employer) - $1,670.24
DW State Pension - $5,915.00
My old 401k - $28,744.00
Current 401k - $9,315.52
Total: $95,644.76

Liabilities:
Mortgage: $23,823.12 ($309 a month, P&I, no PMI)  15 year fixed at 2.875%, purchased this spring
Auto Loan: $14,500 remaining @ 2.95%
Student Loans (mine): $17,116.73
Credit Card 1: $4,077.45
Credit Card 2: $3,900 (0% interest until 8/24/17)
Credit Card 3: $338.48
Total: $46,639.05

Networth: $49,005.71