Author Topic: RRSP contribution room from past years- how much?  (Read 2296 times)

Sunnysof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
RRSP contribution room from past years- how much?
« on: December 06, 2017, 12:21:10 AM »
This is probably a basic question but I am getting confused by articles on the net. Where can I find (or how to calculate) the sum of my RRSP contribution room from years past where I did not contribute up to the max? My notice of assessment gives me a figure for my total contribution room for the next tax year, but this does not seem to include previous years room.
For example, I have been contributing about $5000-10000 per year for the last 5 years, but usually would have about 10-15k more room. So it seems I should have at least $50000 contribution room from the past 5 years, but my notice amount is for $40k.
Do I have to go through all my past year notices and add up the leftover contribution room? Does the room not carryover indefinitely?

Aminul

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: RRSP contribution room from past years- how much?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 07:58:16 AM »
You can sign in to the My Account on the the RCA website and you can view your remaining contribution space.  The contribution space does carryover indefinitely. 

https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/e-services/e-services-individuals/account-individuals.html

andreamac

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 10:09:01 AM »
Your notice of assessment should be accurate and I would not recommend contributing more than that amount otherwise you may get penalties.

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 02:48:50 AM »
+1 the NOA should be accurate.  In your calculations note that RRSP contribution room based on 2017's income will only be made available to you in 2018.

Lews Therin

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Magnum Stache
  • Fee-only Financial Planner
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 08:44:29 AM »