Author Topic: Roth IRA/IRA/other options for higher income earner?  (Read 5701 times)

Valkyrie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA/IRA/other options for higher income earner?
« on: September 23, 2013, 12:55:47 AM »
Hi everyone, I searched and searched in these forums/the site and elsewhere for an answer to my dilemma but I'm hoping you guys can help me out.

I'm a 27 year-old software developer and my AGI is well above $127,000 this year (max 2013 for partial Roth IRA contribution), even after accounting for 401k contributions. Last year my AGI was low enough to contribute to a Roth IRA, but not this year.

I have maxed out my 401k already and already contributed a few thousand to my Roth IRA before I knew about the limits. Here are my questions:

• Is there any way I can contribute to a Roth IRA or a traditional IRA with my income?
  • What about the money I already put into my Roth? Vanguard lets me put even more in there, but obviously it doesn't know about my income. Will I need to pay it back somehow?
  • I received a large bonus this year of about $40k -- if I can't put it into an IRA, should I just buy more Vanguard funds and accept the capital gains when I eventually withdraw it?

Thank you so much!

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Roth IRA/IRA/other options for higher income earner?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 02:13:02 AM »
1) Yes, there is a roundabout process where you can contribute to a Roth IRA. It's called a "backdoor IRA conversion". It involves making a non-deductible contribution to a traditional IRA and immediately rolling it over into a Roth. The link goes over it in more detail, including a common pitfall: if you already have made tax-deferred contribution to a traditional IRA, the backdoor strategy doesn't work as well.