Author Topic: Roth IRA vs non-match 401k  (Read 4937 times)

Rudema

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA vs non-match 401k
« on: November 01, 2015, 11:14:07 AM »
I'm relatively new to investing so I may have no all my facts straight so if I'm wrong, please point me in the right direction.

I currently have a 401k through my work with a 3% match. I contribute up to the match and put the rest of my income into my Roth IRA (VFIFX) through Vanguard.

My wife (24 y/o) does not have any retirement set up as of yet. Her work has a 401k with no matching. They offer Roth 401k and Traditional. She also explains she can get a Roth IRA through Wells Fargo. She is very adamant to start only her 401k or go through Wells Fargo for her Roth IRA. I say we should start an IRA like I have through Vanguard seeing as she does not have any match options through her work.

Who is right here? I have no idea what funds Wells Fargo offer nor their expense ratio.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2015, 11:16:03 AM by Rudema »

JLee

• Walrus Stache
Re: Roth IRA vs non-match 401k
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2015, 12:02:12 PM »
The biggest advantage of a 401k is the tax-advantaged limit is far higher than an IRA. If she isn't contributing more than $5500/yr, I would go with an IRA wherever you guys prefer (I like Vanguard).  If possible to do so, maxing both a 401k and IRA will give you a nice tax-advantaged investment.

Generally Traditional is superior to Roth; this is a good read: http://www.gocurrycracker.com/roth-sucks/

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2015, 10:44:51 PM »
See the standard advice below.  Tends to fit (because there are several "if this then that" qualifiers) most situations.  Without knowing more about the information described in http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/how-to-write-a-%27case-study%27-topic/ it is difficult to give advice better than "follow these guidelines."