Author Topic: Roth IRA Edward Jones  (Read 8926 times)

britt234

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA Edward Jones
« on: August 07, 2014, 09:18:36 AM »
Hello all! My first post! I'm new to this blog but I have been slowly starting to get involved in the investment world striving to reach early retirement.

I’m a 25 year old female living in DC and I think I made my first big financial mistake. In 2013, I opened up a Roth IRA at my local Edward Jones. I really knew nothing about IRAs except that it is good to start young due to compound interest accumulations. I put the full $5,500 in and told my financial advisor I would be back in late August to give her the full $5500 for 2014. (She has already called to remind me and it’s only the first week of August)

As soon as I received my first statement I couldn’t understand how I lost around $300 right away until I looked at the initial fees. :( My financial advisor is really helpful because she has also helped me with investing my work pension funds. (she isn’t making any money from that)

My question: I don’t want the same thing to happen with my $5500 for 2014. I want to go with Vanguard but I’m not sure I have enough knowledge to manage the IRA on my own? I just know it’s not good to be paying all these fees! Someone help!

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
Re: Roth IRA Edward Jones
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2014, 09:27:02 AM »
Just open up a vanguard account, and choose what index fund you want to invest it.  It's so simple a cave man could do it.