Author Topic: Career change - engineer to technical college teacher  (Read 1536 times)

much ado

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career change - engineer to technical college teacher
« on: March 31, 2017, 10:46:23 AM »
I’m currently an engineer at a large Midwest manufacturing company. I’m 26 and have been there for 3 years. I like the company and my coworkers, don’t like the union (for wage employees), and don’t have much passion/interest in my job.

I’m considering applying for an instructor position at the local community college in an advanced technologies department - something reasonably aligned with my experience as an engineer.  I’m hoping that I will have more enjoyment/fulfillment in the teaching position, but I’m worried that it might be an “out of the frying pan, into the fire” scenario. I don’t really have any previous experience teaching, but I think I would enjoy it, and I believe that teaching at the community college level would take away a lot of the headaches that grade school teachers face.

Pros
fewer hours - the college is 9 hrs per day, 4 days per week (I’m sure I will be working more starting out, getting lesson plans ready, etc).
Possibly more autonomy in the job. Currently, I feel like I do very little engineering and a lot more project management coordinating work with the wage employees and giving work direction.
More time off - 6 weeks off in the summer, 5 weeks off during other breaks throughout the year - time to look into other side gigs, or turn hobbies into profit
My wife works at the college already, so we would have the same breaks off for traveling, badass hiking trips, etc.
Cons
Pay cut - from $75000/yr as an engineer to $55000 as an instructor. However, I think I could make some of this up by working other jobs on my Fridays off or during breaks, such as tutoring, construction, rental properties, etc.