Author Topic: Rollovers, savings, and retirement funds – what do I do first?  (Read 1841 times)

jlkpony7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Ummm… this thing on...? 

Total noob here.  I’ve been reading MMM for a few weeks now and am really enjoying learning as much as I can from this community. Ya’ll are so smart!

I think I’m ready  now to ask my first question(s). Gulp.

For a quick background, I pasted and abbreviated my introduction I wrote a few weeks back below:
My husband (47) and I (37) are "late bloomers" in the financial knowledge arena, so I'm trying to learn as much as I can and choose our financial strategy/investments sensibly. My husband is in K-12 and I am in higher education, so we are not what I consider to be "high earners" in the area where we live—but we are comfortable, earning about $130k combined.

Our debt is a 3 years-til-payoff car loan of $13k and a $217k mortgage (home value is approx. $325k).

My question(s):
We have a hodge podge of retirement savings from old jobs and e-savings, much of which needs to be consolidated and grown and I'm not sure where I should start. We both currently are paying into mandatory pension plans—and will be each "vested" beginning in 2018–meaning we will get some (TBD) pension amount based on years of service and average of highest salaries.

Beyond our mandatory pensions, we have the following:

•   1 403b from a prior job = $23k in it
•   1 Simple IRA = $3800 in it
•   1 out of state pension (my husbands) that is not vested and has $22k in it not earning a dang thing.
•   $14k in savings – it’s honestly our “catch-all” pot we have for emergencies and occasional family travel.