Author Topic: rockwool versus fiberglass  (Read 2254 times)

affordablehousing

• Pencil Stache
rockwool versus fiberglass
« on: July 08, 2019, 04:48:48 PM »
Forum, I took down the ceiling in a lower room to clean up old wiring and add new lights. It also gives me the chance to insulate the ceiling underneath our bedroom. They are 2x8 joists. Should I spring for rockwool or go with fiberglass? I've never used rockwool before but am excited by the sound attenuation possibilities if this lower room gets used more as a guest bedroom (likely possibility). And what thickness would you put in, 3.5" or 5.5"? This is ~250sf so the cost difference is likely ~$200 I would think.

electriceagle

• Pencil Stache
Re: rockwool versus fiberglass
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2019, 07:40:37 PM »
Rockwool.

The difference in material cost is dwarfed by the extra labor cost/hassle if you are not satisfied with the noise attenuation properties of the fiberglass.

SunnyDays

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 09:23:19 AM »
Yeah, get the Roxul Safe and Sound  - works well and fewer itchies.

affordablehousing

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2019, 10:29:51 AM »
Thanks all for the advice.

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2019, 12:27:11 PM »
Dunno, do you enjoy working with fiberglass?  I'm sure someone, somewhere, does...

Otherwise, rock wool is nicer to work with and does a better job on sound.  The 3.5" stuff won't support between the studs overhead, the 5.5" stuff should, though you may still have to anchor it in place a bit.

BNgarden

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2019, 01:03:19 PM »
If using rockwool (which I would also recommend and have used in two applications for sound-proofing to good effect), make sure you don't pack it in.  Just friction fit, leaving a little air space against floor above (?), and you can use multiple layers if the depth of joists allows it.

Dogastrophe

• Bristles