Author Topic: Return to job that requires traveling for 3 consecutive months a year?  (Read 1817 times)

tpolig05

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm having a hard time deciding whether or not I should return to my old job which requires traveling for 3 consecutive months a year out of the country to dangerous areas. I currently work as a software developer making 75k but I'm not happy. I've negotiated to a point where I'd be making 100 - 120k at the old job (while overseas, the 84 hour work weeks + hazard pay/per diem add up).

I previously worked at this company for a year and liked it for the most part but left because the opportunity to become a software developer presented itself and I had been working towards that goal for a few years. The overseas job is cool, but after a while not very stimulating (Remote Sensing).

What's different this time around is I have a girlfriend of 1 year and would hate to be away from her for so long.

I'm also talking with another company which would allow me to work as a software developer making 80-85k a year and allow me to stay home.

From a FI/RE perspective, the money is very enticing as I'd be able to make over 10k net during the months I'm away. I still have a ton of student loan debt (75k). I'd be able to make huge dents in these loans fast. On my current paycheck, I'm struggling to even save $200 a month after loan payment and rent. I fear that if I stay at my current job or taking the other job paying 85k, I would have trouble paying off my loans quickly and saving for a house. I would have to really cut my lifestyle and spend a lot less..

I know this is very much a personal question I need to answer myself but I'd love to hear thoughts on traveling, being away from others, the impacts on relationships, trade offs, importance of paying loans off quickly or anything else!

Thanks

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Return to job that requires traveling for 3 consecutive months a year?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 07:48:09 AM »