Author Topic: Retirement, but love the work?  (Read 6137 times)

acrosstherainbow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Retirement, but love the work?
« on: March 14, 2015, 08:55:07 PM »
I'm a relatively new reader (although I have lurked here for quite awhile). Is there anyone in the situation of liking the idea of retiring early, but love their job? When I say I love my job, I mean that I love it. I wake up wanting to get to work and I generally enjoy myself throughout the day (I'm a nurse practitioner).

For others with the same mindset- what have you decided as far as early retirement goes? I realize this sounds like an oxymoron. But have you decided to make enough for FIRE and then just work part-time so that you get some benefits of each? It sounds like that would be the obvious solution, but just wondering if anyone else had any other thoughts.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: Retirement, but love the work?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2015, 09:05:48 PM »
Are you 100% sure you will love it until you are 65? Nurse practitioners usually burn out earlier than that because of long periods of standing, having to pick patients up out of bed, bureaucracy etc. When people tell me they love their jobs I just roll my eyes because they are usually in denial about the abilities of their bodies as they get older. Also you can't "just work part time." It's actually really tough to find sustainable part time jobs.
If you get to FI and decide you don't want to RE more power to you. What's most important is having the option. No one is going to force you to retire.

aschmidt2930

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2015, 09:09:46 PM »
Yes, I love my job, and can honestly say I'm excited and motivated 95% of days. With that said, I want to "RE" to work part time in a freelance role in a few years. I'm just one of those people that would be bored working 0 hours a week. The key is the ability to work for myself.

acrosstherainbow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2015, 09:12:44 PM »