Author Topic: retirement advice needed for disabled mustachian  (Read 5411 times)

mmmellen

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
retirement advice needed for disabled mustachian
« on: April 15, 2014, 02:13:03 PM »
I am a disabled woman of 51 years in the USA who is no longer able to work due to a brain injury.  I will be receiving 16,000/year if not accepted to receive private disability.  I am not eligible to receive SS benefits as I worked as a teacher and we do not pay into the SS system.  If I am found eligible to receive disability payments, I will be getting 2,600/month, and will have to get my own healthcare coverage for myself and my two children.  I own my own home as I purchased it with settlement money from the accident which injured me.  Unfortunately, I will probably never be able to work again.  I received some money which has been sitting in a savings account only because I have only a few hours of "normal" brain functioning during the day and I have been working with my cousin to try to catch up on filing back taxes.  It took me 3 years to work on getting the money from my mother's estate.  My oldest child is set to go to college in Sept. of 2015.  I want to somehow invest this chunk of money as my future is uncertain and do not want it to count as money I have available to pay for his college, as then I will not be able to survive in the future.  I know I can put some of it in a roth ira, but I no longer work and do not know if I can put some money into some kind of 401K type of account.  I have 53,000 in a 401K I had when I was working which I will try to leave there.  My ex does not contribute at all as he is "unemployed", although he could easily get a job if he wanted to, and I do not expect he will ever contribute. 

Does anyone know how I could best invest this money to prepare myself for the future?  I would appreciate any help you could give me.