Author Topic: Retire to mountain bike, where to move?  (Read 9228 times)

Blatant

• Stubble
Retire to mountain bike, where to move?
« on: June 26, 2015, 07:48:55 PM »
Hi, all: Don't want to get too much into a lot financial background in this thread. I'm 47 years old and I'm about to pull the pin on a highly stressful government job and take a partial pension.  My wife does well financially and wants to soldier on for a few more years. We are not in a financial position to be FI yet, so I will likely get hooked into a side hustle and/or a part-time job.

We live in North Scottsdale, AZ, which is a pretty high COL area. One thing that will help me RE is making a move to a lower COL area. We currently owe about $334k on our house, which should sell around $400k in the current market.

My hobby is mountain biking. To be truthful, it's probably more than a hobby, but I'm not a professional so that word will suffice. My goal is to be able to ride most days.

I enjoy gnarly, technical, steep riding, but also have a single-speed and a semi-fat for more moderate stuff. Would love to be able to ride from home, but that's not a deal-breaker. Would like as close to year-round riding as possible. A smaller community where we can buy a decent house for $200k and live small.

To recap: LCOL, smaller city/town, close to year-round high-quality mountain biking as possible.

On my list: Prescott, AZ. Cortez/Mancos, CO. Brevard, NC.

Any fellow bikers here want to share some thoughts? Thank you.

Ocelot

• Stubble
Re: Retire to mountain bike, where to move?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2015, 11:56:01 PM »
I live in Wellington, New Zealand, 5 minutes ride from the CBD, and there are trails less than 15 minutes ride away in several directions. COL isn't super low though, and obviously it's a long way away, but the healthcare is all free or extremely cheap...

Jeremy E.

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2015, 12:18:51 AM »
Moscow, Idaho.