Author Topic: Resume help - Accountant  (Read 2524 times)

AerynLee

• Pencil Stache
Resume help - Accountant
« on: November 28, 2017, 07:20:46 PM »
I think I'm ready for a change in careers. I'm currently an accountant for a local government. It's a mostly nice and pretty cushy job but I think I'm done working full time and want to start applying for part time or seasonal jobs. Until today I hadn't looked at or even thought about my resume in about 6 years. I always hated creating resumes and don't feel like I do a good job of writing job descriptions/achievements.

Ideally I want to work for a public accounting firm doing either tax preparation and/or bookkeeping. I've passed the CPA exam but don't have the experience to be a CPA. I'm not sure where on the resume it fits to say that I've passed all sections of the exam.

I'm attaching a scrubbed version that takes out the overly identifying information. I know it needs work. For one thing most, if not all, of the contract assignments need to come out. Should I just take them all out? It leaves some gaps in my work history and only leaves 2-3 "real" jobs; COMPANY 1, 2 and 6 (ish, see next paragraph)

COMPANY 2 is a big box tax preparation company. I didn't work every tax season in the date range. I was a receptionist in 2008, and a tax preparer in 2009 and 2011-2013. It helps fill in some employment gaps and could be useful with getting my foot in the door with a seasonal tax prep job. But what's the best way to show that?

And of course I'm open to suggestions and criticisms on any part of this. I'm in a position where I can be really picky about what job I take and want to make sure I look as good to the ones I want as I can