Author Topic: Restaurant spending - I just can't seem to cut it  (Read 19963 times)

Eric

• Magnum Stache
Re: Restaurant spending - I just can't seem to cut it
« Reply #50 on: December 31, 2014, 03:03:23 PM »
Some things you just can't replicate with ease at home.

When I see someone claim that he can cook better food at home, I assume either that he eats exclusively at Chili's or that he lives in a flyover area where "fine dining" means steakhouse.

I live in Silicon Valley, so you should assume that I'm a fucking excellent cook, not that I have bad taste.

Roland of Gilead

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: December 31, 2014, 03:12:40 PM »
Forgive me if fancy jumbo shrimp in some sort of sweet-potato based saucey-thing I couldn't begin to whip up doesn't tickle my fancy about the same amount as grilled mushrooms and other random vegetables for an appetizer. Difficult doesn't mean better.

I used to think that way until I ate the food cooked by a Michelin star chef.  It isn't just a fancy arrangement of food...they actually know how to combine ingredients and cook to perfection.

I wouldn't expect a fine chef to know how to solder a 144 pin TQFP correctly, so why should anyone expect an untrained person to produce food on the level of top chefs?

aj_yooper

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #52 on: December 31, 2014, 03:18:10 PM »
We are foodies and get cabin fever so I feel your pain.  Pick cool spots to go to and don't drink, but totally enjoy the meal. 

garth

• Stubble
« Reply #53 on: December 31, 2014, 04:28:46 PM »

When I see someone claim that he can cook better food at home, I assume either that he eats exclusively at Chili's or that he lives in a flyover area where "fine dining" means steakhouse.

I live in Silicon Valley, so you should assume that I'm a fucking excellent cook, not that I have bad taste.

Oui chef.

skunkfunk

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #54 on: December 31, 2014, 04:38:23 PM »