Author Topic: Restaurant quality meals  (Read 8733 times)

sevensquirrels

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Restaurant quality meals
« on: April 26, 2017, 02:55:10 PM »
I need some help reducing the amount I eat out... and I think it would help a lot of the quality of my food was better. It's not *bad*, but I get a lot of feedback that it's boring. I think it's because... while I'm not bad, I'm definitely a self taught home cook that follows recipes to a tee, so my meals end up being nothing to write home about.

For reference, here's what I'm considering for next week, including recipes:

https://www.budgetbytes.com/2017/01/chicken-broccoli-pasta-lemon-cream-sauce/
https://www.budgetbytes.com/2016/07/slow-cooker-coconut-curry-lentils/ (plus chicken)
http://www.onceuponachef.com/recipes/peruvian-style-roast-chicken-with-green-sauce.html with rice and grilled onion/tomato
https://www.budgetbytes.com/2017/01/bibimbap-ultimate-bowl-meal/
https://norecipes.com/tonkatsu with rice and veggies

I try to have each recipe no more than once per month, no "style/region" of food more than twice per week, and no meat more than twice per week to keep it as interesting as I can. But I get the sense that the recipes themselves or something about the way I'm cooking them just doesn't give them the same "je ne sais quoi" that you get with a meal out. I tried adding more salt, to mixed effect... but it's definitely something else that's missing.

Anyone have some really good recipes to share? Tips and tricks on cooking methods like frying/baking/grilling to make stuff come out more of a professional quality? Also preferably things that take under 45 minutes because I work full time and have an hour commute each way.*

*(Before anyone asks, yes I have interviewed for closer jobs and gotten multiple offers so I could take a closer job -- for a 20-30k (40%) paycut) :(

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
Re: Restaurant quality meals
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2017, 03:15:17 PM »