Author Topic: responding to beliefs that I'm poor?  (Read 27426 times)

scrubbyfish

responding to beliefs that I'm poor?
« on: December 13, 2014, 09:44:52 AM »
The segment in red is modified from the original post. I had first said "gifts, hampers, etc," and this caused confusion, as some reasonably believed I was referring to a gift of a laundry basket, as opposed to a poverty survival package.

I posted yesterday's embarrassing story in my Journal.

The gist: I live in a new-to-me area, thus I am new to lots of people here.
People keep offering me gifts -clothes, leftover food, etc, which I absolutely love.
Nearing Christmas now, several have offered me a "hamper", which in this context is a basket of Christmas food and Christmas toys organized for families "in need" and "at risk of having to move out of the area if they do not receive support".

It occurs to me that people here think I'm poor.
I don't think of myself as poor.
I have awesome savings -not filthy rich by Western standards (can't even buy a house in most of BC), but I have great savings.
Income is incredibly variable, sometimes zilch, sometimes solid.

I love generosity, and I love receiving gifts that I can use.
I consider myself interdependent: I do need the human community.
I don't love people thinking they need to help me out on the assumption that I can't afford things, because that's not the case.
I also don't love the embarrassment, shame, etc, I feel when people think I'm poor.

I've been thinking about why they think I'm poor. I think they are taking these as clues:
I rent.
I rent the cheapest, smallest option in the area. (I'm crazy happy in it!)
I have very few possessions by Western standards.
I'm an only parent (no child support, etc).