Author Topic: Request: Some Q&A on Mustachian CC & Bank churning  (Read 6215 times)

ChaseJuggler

• Stubble
Request: Some Q&A on Mustachian CC & Bank churning
« on: March 19, 2015, 08:10:50 PM »
I've kind of hit a wall recently on getting my discretionary spending much lower than it currently is, so I'm setting my sights on finding easy(ish) ways to increase my income. CC and Bank bonus churning seems to be a perfect fit for me.

I have some experience with this sort of thing already. 3 or 4 years ago, I invested $10,000 in Lending Club using 0%APR credit cards, then withdrew the $11,000 eleven months later to pay them off and pocket the interest. It worked beautifully.... once. Now of course Lending Club doesn't take credit cards, and I never figured out another way to use credit cards beyond my usual Mustachian spending.

I've spent about 7 hours researching as much as I can on r/churning, here, and on drofcredit. But I'm still fuzzy on some stuff and could really use a 15 minute Q&A with someone who has goals similar to mine. Here are a few of my big questions that I'm still fuzzy on even after my research:

1: What offers are the best for someone who is more interested in cash than a free vacation?
2: Is it a good idea to cancel these cards right after receiving the sign up bonus?
3: Many of the bank rewards require a direct deposit. What's the easiest way to fulfill these without pissing off your employer?
4: I've got a 770 credit score and spend about $500/month on my credit cards. Today I got the ball rolling on the TD Bank card with $200 credit after $500 in spending during first 3 months. Any recommendations on some next steps?
5: What are the best tricks to spend more on CCs without being a consumerist sucka? I signed up for Serve, but it looks like that bus is leaving next month. Is Redcard worth the trouble? Also, do store specific gift cards count as purchases?

Okay, I'll shuddup now. Thanks for any input!! =D

a1smith

• Bristles