Author Topic: Request: review my finances  (Read 5028 times)

SpicyMcHaggus

• Bristles
Request: review my finances
« on: June 11, 2014, 12:20:05 PM »
I turn 31 this month.
I was sort of a late starter, as I dropped out of college before going back in 2008 and didn't really start my "career" until 2011.
I worked full time during school and frequently had 2 jobs to pay living expenses and tuition in full. When I graduated, I owed nothing and had zero debt. I had sold my car previously, and accepted a job requiring a vehicle. I also love cars. I bought a used car that was unreliable, and once the job was "secured" traded it on a brand new truck, which was still a good deal (22k OTD) but not MMM. I recently realized I didn't need it, and sold it, pocketing a good lump of cash. I purchased a much cheaper Saab, and sold it a month later for $1k profit. I now have a 2001 Saab that was $2000. I have also sold my motorcycle for $4400 and am looking for a much cheaper one.  Over the past 3 years, I have been trying to make more money, as I believe I have already cut spending pretty well. See my monthly budget below:

$170 Gasoline for commute and business activity
$100 Dining out / entertainment
$1200 Mortgage (almost entirely covered by rental income)
$50 lunches from supermarket near work
$100 car insurance
$30 clothing (my wardrobe contains many items from highschool that need replacement badly. I buy a few shirts at the goodwill each month and donate my much older, rattier items)
$100 misc slush fund.

I have been aggressively contributing to an individual TDAmeritrade account as I have maxed my 401k match and IRA contributions. In this TDAmeritrade account, I am buying high dividend producing stocks and funds.  Current net worth is about $200k. My goal is to have about $30k annual in stock/bond/fund investment income inside 2 years. I will continue to work until my funds reach a level of return that approximates 75% of my current annual income.