Author Topic: Renting or buying a condo  (Read 1161 times)

dragonwalker

• Stubble
Renting or buying a condo
« on: January 04, 2021, 08:28:38 PM »
In about 5 months I’m going to need to move out of the room that I have been renting for about 8 years. I’m currently paying $570 per month with all utilities included. I have sacrificed these past 8 years to save what I can in preparation for the potential to purchase my own place.
I am currently single, 32, no children, dependents, or debt. Gross income from work is about $60,000. I live near Los Angeles in a HCOL area but the potential area I’m looking at is north of LA in a place called Santa Clarita. I feel it’s up and coming and prices are below the average LA prices. This is also where my company headquarters where I work will be moving to as well in the next few months coincidentally. 
A loan program from work essentially allows me to get a home loan at about a 1.5% ARM. This rate is quite reliably steady but which I will only have so long as I work here. A bit of my financial currently
$40K in cash
$429K in taxable brokerage accounts (about $180K of which is from long term capital gains)
$196K in mostly Roth 401K funds and much smaller traditional IRA.   

For consideration is a purchase of a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo at around $350K. This will have a monthly HOA of $350, mortgage about $966, property tax estimated at $4700 per year, utilities $100 per month. Depending where exactly I get this property there may be a special assessment I have to pay to the developer that could be as much as 2-3K per year for 10+ years. Perhaps another $3-4K a year in ancillary expenses, insurance, assessments, etc. My plan is to live in 1 room and rent the other which I know I should have no issue getting $800 perhaps as much as $1000 per month.