Author Topic: How to ask for a raise?  (Read 3226 times)

Raenia

• Magnum Stache
How to ask for a raise?
« on: February 03, 2017, 12:29:32 PM »
Removed for privacy.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2017, 01:52:35 PM by Raenia »

Mgmny

• Pencil Stache
Re: How to ask for a raise?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2017, 01:02:02 PM »
I'm a contractor, and I would absolutely advise you NOT to reach out to your client-boss for a raise. This would put you a really awkward situation with your contracting company, and they could get really upset that you did that. Your client-boss hired contractors so he wouldn't have to deal with personnel issues like reviews, $$, firing, etc.

When is your contract up? That's when you need to negotiate. You agreed with your contracting company that you would do a specific job for a specific pay for a specific time period. I understand that you are doing more, or things outside of your job description, but you are still under contract.

The only time i could see you trying to re-negotiate during your contract is if these new job duties put some type of unanticipated strain on you - longer hours (unless you're hourly), more health-risk (thought it was a desk job, but they actually have you doing lineman work).   

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2017, 01:14:32 PM »
My experience is in IT contracting for government, but here it is:

Old contract firm refused to even ask for a bill-rate increase on our tiny contract (2-3 positions) for 10 years.  Finally they're going to ask for a $5/ hour bump, but to keep it all for themselves - not even a token increase for us.  Instead we jumped ship to a small local firm on our next renewal.  The old firm briefly, halfheartedly acted like they were going to put up a fight, but ultimately, old contract firm didn't even try and stop us.