Author Topic: relationship/starting my moustachian journey  (Read 3357 times)

paulsta234

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
relationship/starting my moustachian journey
« on: July 03, 2018, 05:31:47 PM »
Hey i would be so grateful for any advice this whole forum is really a fantastic community i hope to get more involved in.

So I'm from melbourne australia, over the past few years I keep coming back to wanting to start working towards financial freedom.
Me and my girlfriend are raft guides which means we spend one season (5months) rafting in one place then go to a new place. It's a pretty cool job, ive been doing it for about 2 years, the trouble is it's very inconsistent income as i only get work when customers want to come rafting, the pay isnt amazing i made 11,000 nzd in the last 6 months. a few more seasons could mean i make more money maybe 20,000 in 6 months.

A big part of me wants to move back to melbourne, start working an entry level job, start studying online part time for a better career, maybe programming, accounting or financial planning. the consistent income would make it so much easier to achieve.
i am sick of being unstable financially and i worry about having nothing when i cant work anymore. i want to be making progress.

The problem is my girlfriend is all about rafting, travelling and experiences now (short-term), not thinking about long term.
since we have been dating (1 year) i have been choosing her and putting this dream at the back of my mind, i think im realising its one or the other.
when i talk to her she says we'll figure something out shell try long distance, but i know shes counting on the fact ill come back to rafting because i love it and i do.
but sometimes that is not enough.