Author Topic: Refi and student loan question.  (Read 3250 times)

nickeboy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Refi and student loan question.
« on: September 06, 2016, 10:16:53 AM »
Hello MM's I am new to this blog and this forum. I'm pretty frugal to begin with, but things have gotten a little out of hand for the past few years. 10 year old Business is finally doing very well. I'm currently trying to turn this around. I've started calculating all expenses and income more closely. I'm working on writing a case study, but haven't finished yet. In the meantime I have an urgent question. Fearing that interest rates are going to go up, I want to make some moves. I'm thinking about doing a refi (3.75%) and using some of the equity to pay off a student loan. I would also have to pull money from my savings to pay remaking student loan balance. I would then pay extra every month to get it paid off in 15 years. Is this right or should I invest my savings? Hair is currently on fire, but big Facts are listed below.

35yo single income
Married
2 kids (3&5)
Business owner 250k income
401k savings 150k
Bank savings 145k
Mortgage 330k loan, house value 525k (4.375%)
Student loan 135k (4.625%)
All other debts have been paid off. (CC, auto etc.)
« Last Edit: September 06, 2016, 10:18:37 AM by nickeboy »

nickeboy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Refi and student loan question.
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 12:39:34 PM »
I can get to 3.25 for a 15 year.  I'm assuming 10-15k a month average.
I was putting the money away in the bank to buy rental real estate in the next year or 2.
With the money in the bank, should I payoff debt or invest it? Then use my monthly to payoff debt?

nickeboy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2016, 06:35:14 PM »
Thank you bender. If I'm correct, you are agreeing with my plan, but to go for the 15 year instead of the 30 year due to the lower interest rate?

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 01:25:44 PM »
My take is: