Author Topic: Red state liberal relocating... Suggestions?  (Read 15987 times)

ImOscarDotCom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Red state liberal relocating... Suggestions?
« on: November 13, 2016, 10:57:39 AM »
Hello!

This is my first post in a forum (long time lurker).

A little background.. I am a native of Georgia and DW is from the Bay Area.  She is a defense contractor and is currently transitioning into nursing.  I am a secondary school teacher.  We have two children (3 and 5).  I have always had trouble living in the south as a liberal and we have been researching and daydreaming about relocating for 5 years now.  We are particularly concerned about raising our children in this environment, it was pretty difficult growing up here.

We have really been looking into Washington state and Colorado, as potential destinations.  We understand that we will be moving from a LCOL to HCOL area, but we feel it is vital for our family to not raise our family in the Deep South.  We have spent time in Washington and my wife has spent time in the Denver metro a few times. We also visit her family in Monterrey, CA often. I love the west coast and would love to live somewhere different from Georgia.

Are there any places that I might be overlooking?

Thanks for the advice! Love these forums!

AMandM

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Red state liberal relocating... Suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2016, 01:05:13 PM »
Vermont
Massachusetts
Chicago
DC and its MD suburbs (NoVA is more conservative)
NYC

These are all HCOL areas, except for Vermont.  I think that's the reality of moving from the South to most of the rest of the US, especially urban areas, which is where the liberals tend to be.

Livewell

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2016, 01:10:26 PM »