Author Topic: Recommended rack & panniers for daily bike commute  (Read 6318 times)

ejh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Recommended rack & panniers for daily bike commute
« on: October 31, 2016, 04:43:26 AM »
Hey,

I've been commuting almost daily to work by bike for the past 4 months.
My ride is about 9 Km (5.6 miles) each way, mainly on the road/pavement with some detours.
I have a basic but sturdy Trek 4300, hard tail, 26" tires. I got it second hand and it's great.
I carry my change of clothes, laptop, repair kit and extra stuff in my backpack.
It works, but:
1. I realize that for the long haul, I'd rather not have that weight on my back
2. my backpack isn't waterproof so I'll have a problem when it starts raining

The weather here is comfortable for the most part. Mostly sunny and hot throughout the year. Winters are not freezing, but can be very wet at times.

So all that info in order to ask you expert commuters - which racks and panniers would you recommend getting?

I'd like my stuff to stay safe from the rain and mud, even if it's only the occasional downpour.
I'd also like to get something that would allow me to broaden my rides to more trails without spending a fortune on expensive niche gear.
My current point of reference is this article from The Sweethome - http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-bike-rack-basket-panniers/.
They recommend the Topeak Explorer rear rack and a few rear panniers, ranging from Ortlieb Back-Roller Classics to the cheaper Axiom Monsoon Aero.

What do you think?

mskyle

• Pencil Stache
Re: Recommended rack & panniers for daily bike commute
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 09:17:05 AM »
I have a pair of REI Novara panniers that have served me very well through the years. The Ortliebs are nice, but I've only ever had something get wet once in my REI bags (they are reasonably waterproof on their own and have a fold-out rain cover), and that was during a really bad thunderstorm that I should have just waited out.