Author Topic: Recipes for a busy college student  (Read 10604 times)

m8547

• Bristles
Recipes for a busy college student
« on: November 07, 2012, 10:43:32 PM »
This is my first year as a grad student, so living in college is nothing new to me, but I'm suddenly a lot busier than in the past. This year all my classes are more work, and I'm working part time (which pays tuition and a good hourly rate), and I've committed a lot of time to a student organization. I'm busy but not completely overwhelmed, but some things have slipped, like eating well.

I live in an apartment with a kitchen, and I love to cook, and between me and all my roommates, the kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, gadgets, etc. Unfortunately I've been so busy this semester that I haven't had time to cook good food (as in nutritionally balanced and good tasting) nearly as much as I should. As a result, I've been eating way too much pasta (I can count at least 6 servings this week).

I do have some time to cook a few times a week, so I'm looking for recipes that I can make in large batches and keep in the fridge for a few days or the freezer for a couple weeks. In particular, I'm looking for things that are flavorful and can withstand freezing and microwaving. I like all kinds of food and I like to try things from different cultures. Any suggestions?

Edit: I didn't mention Mustachianism at all, but where that comes in is that I don't want to fall into the habit of buying meals (semi-fast food) all the time. I would rather eat more pasta than pay $7 for lunch and/or dinner every day, but I've gotten stuck in a pasta rut. Something has to change, and I don't want to end up like my co-workers who buy lunch almost every day (I'm happy to eat out for occasional treats and unexpected situations, of course).
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 10:50:34 PM by m8547 »

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
Re: Recipes for a busy college student
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2012, 11:07:06 PM »