Author Topic: Recently Married, Back for More Advice - Please Help!  (Read 3020 times)

cysewr

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Recently Married, Back for More Advice - Please Help!
« on: April 14, 2021, 10:32:54 PM »
Hey Guys,

I’m hoping that you all can (once again) provide some advice for the next steps in my family’s financial future. My wife (30 yo) and I (32) were married about 4 months ago, and just learned that we are expecting our first child. In other words, shit is getting real. I've been pretty good about saving for retirement and a house downpayment since I graduated from college almost 5 years ago (I've posted here asking for advice several times, and my progress has been pretty steady). That being said, I have only been a renter since I graduated, and am starting to feel depressed and defeated regarding the housing market. I understand that fear is a terrible reason to make important decisions, which is why I'm looking for some detached perspective from you all.

Let me provide a little more information on our financial situation:

Income: I make $85k, about to get a raise to $90k. Wife makes about $40k. She will stay home once the baby arrives.

401k - $80k (currently contributing the maximum to mine)
Roth IRA - $60k (maxing out mine here as well)
HSA - $16k
Cash - $65k (this is mostly a combination of emergency fund and an eventual down payment for a house. We are contributing around $2k/month to this fund currently).

The plan has been to be patient and save up a 20% downpayment for a house (or as close to it as possible before outgrowing our 2 BR/ 2 BA apartment, likely in a year or two), but it seems like cash is becoming an increasingly unwise position to hold, especially given the fed's/government's fiscal policy that is propping up the housing market.