Author Topic: Recent Grad. Looking for a review of my plan.  (Read 3245 times)

GiantTaco

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Recent Grad. Looking for a review of my plan.
« on: February 22, 2015, 12:04:14 AM »
Hello everyone. I'm 22, and I graduated last fall with a B.S. in Computer Science. I'm starting a job on Monday. I'm going to break down my current situation and post my short and long term plans. Hopefully you nice, smart people will have some criticisms or feedback. Thank you in advance. :)

Job
  • Salary: $95k
  • Bonuses: $22k first paycheck, $17k over 2nd year
  • Relocation Lump Sum: $10k ($5k received, rest being held until taxed)

Debts
  • Parent PLUS Loan: $26k at 7.9%, grace ends 6/18 [over $6k of this is interest :( ]
  • Subsidized Stafford Loans: $17k at 3.4-4.66%, grace ends 6/18
  • Perkins Loan: $4.5k at 5.00%, grace ends 10/1

Situation
  • No car
  • 2015 expenses should be around $18-22k, all inclusive. It's a large range because I moved out (to Seattle!) for the first time and things have yet to settle. I'll know in a month or two.
  • Discounting current credit card statement, I have a little under $4k in the bank. No investments or contributions.
  • Carry no balances anywhere. My credit score is well above 700, and I have a ridiculously long (10+ years), clean credit history for my age thanks to being on my parents' credit cards.

Short Term Plan
  • Contribute to 401k up to employer match.
  • Dump money into PLUS loan and pay it off before grace period ends.
  • Aggressively contribute towards Stafford loans, save enough to pay off Perkins before grace period, then back to Stafford.
  • If all goes well, I'll be debt free before April 15th, 2016, so I can start a Traditional IRA and max it out for 2015 tax benefits.

If I contribute to an IRA in say, February 2016, I can claim that on my 2015 return. Can I also contribute another 5500 during 2016?